Image Promo description

Register to use our site and access free newsletters, book events and lots more.

You don't have to be a member to use our site. Already registered? Login here

Become a member today

The Chartered Institute of Housing is the independent voice for housing and the home of professional standards

  • Housing ombudsman service reflects on 2018-19

    22/05/2019News

      we will shortly be adding some videos to our website to help residents navigate complaints procedures and you may find these useful reference tools our Annual Report and Accounts will be published by 30 June with an update on our performance in

  • CIH Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services

    10 May 2018Qualifications

    CIH Level 3 Certificate in Housing Services CIH scheme code 3H12 The objective of this qualification is to provide individuals with the technical knowledge and understanding across a generalist range of housing practice at an operational level. The

  • Webinar video:Understanding hoarding disorder Subscription

    19/02/2015News

    Webinar video:Understanding hoarding disorder Find out more about the member exclusive webinar with Jack Moore and Dominique Blundell. This webinar will explore the triggers and risk factors associated with hoarding, the biological and genetic

  • How to improve your services with CIH charters

    13/05/2014Policy and practice

    How to improve your services with CIH charters CIH charters are an opportunity for organisations to make public their commitment to deliver high quality services that are clearly focused on outcomes for tenants. This how to will help you make best

  • How do I use complaints to improve my service Subscription

    23/01/2014Policy and practice

    How do I use complaints to improve my service For any service manager, complaints are a valuable source of information which can help you to identify recurring or underlying problems and potential improvements. This ‘how do I’ briefing sets out

  • How do I deal with unreasonable behaviour from complaints Subscription

    16/01/2014Policy and practice

    How do I deal with unreasonable behaviour from complaints Most staff who regularly deal with complaints will, at some point, encounter unreasonable behaviour from a complainant. This may be a one-off incident of abusive or threatening behaviour,

  • How do I handle complaints effectively January 2014 Subscription

    09/01/2014Policy and practice

    How do I handle complaints effectively? January 2014 Most people are likely to need to handle complaints at some point in their day-to-day work. This ‘how do I’ briefing offers some tips for CIH members on how to do this effectively. What's

  • How to... learn from complaints to improve services - September 2013

    11/09/2013Policy and practice

    How to... learn from complaints to improve services - September 2013 Complaints are a valuable source of information about your services, which can help you to identify recurring or underlying problems and to identify potential improvements. This

  • The designated person: Frequently asked questions

    10/12/2012Policy and practice

    The designated person: Frequently asked questions From 1 April 2013, the Localism Act 2011 will put in place new arrangements for dealing with complaints by social tenants against their landlords. Councillors, tenant panels and MPs (“designated

  • How to... work with tenant panels to resolve complaints

    31/07/2013Policy and practice

    How to... work with tenant panels to resolve complaints The Localism Act has given councillors, MPs and tenant panels, referred to collectively as designated persons a key role in helping to resolve complaints. This 'How to...' briefing explains how